Honolulu, Hawaii

March 4

, 2016

RE: H.B. No. 2490

H.D. 2

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Eighth State Legislature Regular Session of 2016 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 2490, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO VETERANS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to exempt certain disabled veterans from county vehicle taxes and the state annual vehicle registration fee, regardless of whether the disabled veteran is in receipt of military disability retirement pay from any branch of the uniformed armed forces.

An individual testified in support of this measure. The State Office of Veterans Services, Department of Transportation, and Tax Foundation of Hawaii commented on this measure.

Your Committee has amended this measure by:

- (1) Changing its effective date to July 1, 2030, to facilitate further discussion; and
- (2) Making a technical, nonsubstantive amendment for clarity and style.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2490, H.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 2490, H.D. 2.

STAND. COM. REP. NO. **707** -16 Page 2

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

## State of Hawaii House of Representatives #SC2 907-16 The Twenty-eighth Legislature

## **Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance**

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Referral:	Referral: Date:		
HB2490 HD1	VMI, TRN, FIN	VMI, TRN, FIN 02/26/16		
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to:  Pass, unamended (as is)  Pass, with amendments (HD)  Hold  Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y. (VC)				
3. CACHOLA, Romy M.				
4. CULLEN, Ty J.K.				
5. DeCOITE, Lynn				
6. JOHANSON, Aaron Ling				
7. JORDAN, Jo				
8. KEOHOKALOLE, Jarrett				
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
10. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.				
11. LOWEN, Nicole E.				
12. ONISHI, Richard H.K.				
13. TOKIOKA, James Kunane				
14. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.				
15. POUHA, Feki				
16. WARD, Gene				
			<del></del> -	
TOTAL (16)	- 15			1
The recommendation is:  Adopted				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Duplicate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO				