March 4, 2016

RE: H.B. No. 2269 H.D. 2

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Eighth State Legislature Regular Session of 2016 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 2269, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO EDUCATION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to:

- (1) Expand the National Board Certification Incentive Program to include school psychologists to provide greater monetary incentives for this profession; and
- (2) Authorize continuing monetary bonuses for public school teachers, counselors, and school psychologists in designated high-need schools that improve and become no longer designated as a high-need school.

The Hawaii State Teachers Association; the Hawaii Association of School Psychologists; the Hawaii Government Employees Association, AFSCME Local 152, AFL-CIO; and one individual testified in support of this measure. The Department of Education and one individual provided comments.

Your Committee has amended this measure by:

(1) Changing the additional monetary bonus for teachers and school psychologists in designated high-need schools

that improve and become no longer designated as such from \$5,000 to an unspecified amount; and

(2) Making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for clarity, consistency, and style.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2269, H.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 2269, H.D. 2.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA LUKE, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-eighth Legislature HSCR913-16

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.: HB2269 HD1	Committee Referral: Date: 02/25/16			
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
T ass short form our with the to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)			-	
2. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y. (VC)				
3. CACHOLA, Romy M.				···
4. CULLEN, Ty J.K.	/4 .			
5. DeCOITE, Lynn	₹25T-J		-	
6. JOHANSON, Aaron Ling				
7. JORDAN, Jo				
8. KEOHOKALOLE, Jarrett			-	
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
10. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.				
11. LOWEN, Nicole E.				··
12. ONISHI, Richard H.K.				
13. TOKIOKA, James Kunane				
14. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.				
15. POUHA, Feki				
16. WARD, Gene				
				
TOTAL (16)	- 15			
The recommendation is: Adopted Not Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Duplicate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO				