March 4, 2016

RE: H.B. No. 2080 H.D. 2

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Eighth State Legislature Regular Session of 2016 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 2080, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO FUEL CELL ELECTRIC VEHICLES," begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to encourage the use of alternative energy vehicles and further the State's clean energy goals by:

- (1) Including fuel cell electric vehicles in the definition of electric vehicles for purposes of parking exemptions, High Occupancy Vehicle lane use, registration, and required parking spaces in places of public accommodation; and
- (2) Granting procurement priority for fuel cell electric vehicles purchased by state and county agencies.

The Department of Transportation, Department of Business, Economic Development, and Tourism, High Technology Development Corporation, Hawaii Energy Policy Forum, Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers, Blue Planet Foundation, and Servco Pacific Inc. provided testimony in support of this measure.

Your Committee has amended this measure by:

(1) Changing the effective date to July 1, 2030, to encourage further discussion, and

(2) Making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for the purposes of clarity, consistency, and style.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2080, H.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 2080, H.D. 2.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,



## State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-eighth Legislature

## Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Referral: Date:			
HB2080 HD1	TRN, EEP, FIN		03/01/16	
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to:  Pass, unamended (as is)  Pass, with amendments (HD)  Hold  Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)				
2. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y. (VC)				
3. CACHOLA, Romy M.				
4. CULLEN, Ty J.K.				
5. DeCOITE, Lynn				
6. JOHANSON, Aaron Ling				
7. JORDAN, Jo				
8. KEOHOKALOLE, Jarrett				
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand				
10. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.				
11. LOWEN, Nicole E.				
12. ONISHI, Richard H.K.				
13. TOKIOKA, James Kunane				
14. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.				
15. POUHA, Feki				
16. WARD, Gene				
				<del>                                     </del>
			·	
TOTAL (16)	- 16			
The recommendation is:  Adopted  If joint referral, did not support recommendation.  Committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) — Committee Duplicate (Yellow) — Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) — HMSO				