STAND. COM. REP. NO.

Honolulu, Hawaii 2016 RE: H.B. No. 2080 H.D. 1

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Eighth State Legislature Regular Session of 2016 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection, to which was referred H.B. No. 2080, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO FUEL CELL ELECTRIC VEHICLES,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to encourage the use of alternative energy vehicles and further the State's clean energy goals by:

- Including fuel cell electric vehicles in the definition of electric vehicles for purposes of parking exemptions, High Occupancy Vehicle lane use, registration, and required parking spaces in places of public accommodation; and
- (2) Granting procurement priority for fuel cell electric vehicles purchased by state and county agencies.

The Department of Business, Economic Development, and Tourism; the High Technology Development Corporation; the Hawaii Energy Policy Forum; the Hawaii Automobile Dealers Association; the Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers; Servco Pacific Inc.; Blue Planet Foundation; and two individuals testified in support of this measure.



STAND. COM. REP. NO. **558**-16 Page 2

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2080, H.D. 1, and recommends that it be referred to your Committee on Finance.

> Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection,

CHRIS LEE, Chair



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-eighth Legislatur

The Twenty-eighth Legislature Hscc.558-16 Record of Votes of the Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection

	Committee Referral: TRN, EEP, FIN	Date:	2-11	016
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Image: Pass, unamended (as is) Image: Pass, with amendments (HD) Image: Hold Image: Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
EEP Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. LEE, Chris (C)				
2. LOWEN, Nicole E. (VC)				
3. CULLEN, Ty J.K.				
4. EVANS, Cindy				
5. ING, Kaniela				
6. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
7. SAY, Calvin K.Y.				
8. YAMANE, Ryan I.				
9. POUHA, Feki				
10. THIELEN, Cynthia				
			· · ·	
TOTAL (10)	9	\square	<i>d</i>	
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral,				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature: MACOEL				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				