STAND. COM. REP. NO. 784-16

Honolulu, Hawaii Nach 4, 2016 RE: H.B. No. 1787 H.D. 2

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Eighth State Legislature Regular Session of 2016 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 1787, H.D. 2, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO EDUCATION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to establish the Erin's Law Task Force (Task Force) to guide the establishment of a program to educate public school students on sexual abuse prevention through the use of age-appropriate curricula. Specifically, this measure:

- (1) Requires the Task Force to review current policies, programs, and curricula for educating public school students about sexual abuse prevention, and make recommendations for the establishment of the program; and
- (2) Appropriate funds for the operations of the Task Force.

Planned Parenthood Votes Northwest and Hawaii, Hawaii Women's Coalition, The Sex Abuse Treatment Center, Hawaii Children's Action Network, and IMUAlliance testified in support of this measure. The Department of Education, State Public Charter School Commission, and Executive Office on Early Learning commented on this measure.



STAND. COM. REP. NO. **784** -16 Page 2

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 1787, H.D. 2, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

> Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

SYLVIA L



## State of Hawaii House of Representatives **HSCR 784-16** The Twenty-eighth Legislature

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.: HB1787 HD2		ee Referral: EDN, IMG, FI		nte: 03/01/16		
The committee is reconsidering its	previous decisio	n on the measure.				
	Pass, unamended Pass short form b		s, with amendmen nmit for future pu	ts (HD)		
FIN Members		Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused	
1. LUKE, Sylvia (C)						
2. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y. (VC)						
3. CACHOLA, Romy M.						
4. CULLEN, Ty J.K.						
5. DeCOITE, Lynn						
6. JOHANSON, Aaron Ling						
7. JORDAN, Jo		1				
8. KEOHOKALOLE, Jarrett						
9. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand						
10. LoPRESTI, Matthew S.			-			
11. LOWEN, Nicole E.						
12. ONISHI, Richard H.K.						
13. TOKIOKA, James Kunane						
14. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.						
15. POUHA, Feki						
16. WARD, Gene						
	_					
	_					
TOTAL (16)		(b)				
The recommendation is:	Adopted oint referral,	did not support recommendation.				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:						
Distribution: Original (White) - Co	Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Duplicate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO					