STAND. COM. REP. NO. 915 -16

Honolulu, Hawaii March 4 , 2016

RE: H.B. No. 1751 H.D. 2

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Eighth State Legislature Regular Session of 2016 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce, to which was referred H.B. No. 1751, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO RENEWABLE ENERGY,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to expand the definition of "renewable energy" applicable to the Renewable Portfolio Standards Law to include other self-replenishing non-fossil fuel resources.

The Hawaii Solar Energy Association; HP Energy; Ulupono Initiative; Mele Associates, Inc.; Molokai Chamber of Commerce; and an individual testified in support of this measure. The Hawaii Energy Policy Forum testified in opposition to this measure. The Department of Business, Economic Development & Tourism and Public Utilities Commission provided comments on this measure.

Your Committee has amended this measure by amending the definition of "renewable energy" to limit it to the types of energy sources that are listed in the definition.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 1751, H.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 1751, H.D. 2.



STAND. COM. REP. NO. 925 -16 Page 2

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce,

ANGUS L.K. MCKELVEY, Chair



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-eighth Legislature

HBCR 925-16

Record of Votes of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce

Bill/Resolution No.:	tee Referral: EEP, CPC	Date:	-29-16).
The committee is reconsidering its previous decisi	· · · ·		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
The recommendation is to: D Pass, unamender D Pass short form		s, with amendments (nmit for future public	-	
CPC Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. McKELVEY, Angus L.K. (C)				
2. WOODSON, Justin H. (VC)				
3. BELATTI, Della Au				
4. BROWER, Tom				
5. CREAGAN, Richard P.				
6. HAR, Sharon E.				
7. HASHEM, Mark J.				
8. KAWAKAMI, Derek S.K.				
9. LEE, Chris				
10. NAKASHIMA, Mark M.				
11. OSHIRO, Marcus R.				
12. SAN BUENAVENTURA, Joy A.				
13. TAKAYAMA, Gregg				
14. YAMANE, Ryan I.				
15. FUKUMOTO CHANG, Beth				-
16. McDERMOTT, Bob				
	_			
TOTAL (16)	10	0	0	6
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral,	Not Adopt committee acronym(did not suppor	t recommendatio	on.
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) - Committee	Dunlicate (Yellow) -	Chief Clerk's Office	Dunlicate (Pink) – HMSO