STAND. COM. REP. NO. 387 -14

Honolulu, Hawaii **Apid 2**, 2014 RE: S.B. No. 2465 S.D. 2 H.D. 2

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Seventh State Legislature Regular Session of 2014 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce, to which was referred S.B. No. 2465, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR PSYCHOLOGISTS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to require psychologists in the State to complete a minimum of 18 credit hours of continuing education courses for each licensing renewal biennium, beginning with the 2016 through 2018 biennium.

The Board of Psychology, Hawaii Psychological Association, Hawaii Medical Association, National Association of Social Workers Hawaii Chapter, and several individuals testified in support of this measure.

Your Committee has amended this measure by:

- (1) Changing the effective date to July 1, 2014; and
- (2) Making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for the purposes of clarity, consistency, and style.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and

SB2465 HD2 HSCR CPC HMS 2014-2912

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1387-14 Page 2

purpose of S.B. No. 2465, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as S.B. No. 2465, S.D. 2, H.D. 2.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce,

ANGUS L.K. MCKELVEY, Chair



State of Hawaii House of Representatives HSCR 1387-14 The Twenty-seventh Legislature

Record of Votes of the Committee on Consumer Protection and Commerce

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Referral:	Date			
5B24WSSD2HDI HETCPC			3/24114		
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.					
The recommendation is to: Image: Pass, unamended (as is) Image: Pass, with amendments (HD) Image: Hold Image: Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)					
CPC Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused	
1. McKELVEY, Angus L.K. (C)		:	:		
2. KAWAKAMI, Derek S.K. (VC)					
3. BELATTI, Della Au		11 T			
4. BROWER, Tom	/				
5. CACHOLA, Romy M.		· · ·			
6. CREAGAN, Richard					
7. EVANS, Cindy			, i s e	/	
8. HAR, Sharon E.				/	
9. ITO, Ken					
10. LEE, Chris				·	
11. NAKASHIMA, Mark M.				· · · ·	
12. OSHIRO, Marcus R.	/				
13. TSUJI, Clift			a the second	· · · ·	
14. YAMANE, Ryan I.				/	
15. MCDERMOTT, Bob		-			
16. THIELEN, Cynthia	/				
				_	
· · ·					
				<u>.</u> .	
		···			
TOTAL (16)	13			3	
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation.					
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:					
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO					