

Honolulu, Hawaii

Acril C , 2013

RE: S.B. No. 470

S.D. 1 H.D. 2

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Seventh State Legislature Regular Session of 2013 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce, to which was referred S.B. No. 470, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO CREDIT CARDS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to prohibit retailers from passing certain credit card surcharges on to customers.

The Hawaii Bankers Association testified in support of this measure. Lockridge, Grindal, and Nauen, P.L.L.P. testified in opposition to this measure. Retail Merchants of Hawaii and the Hawaii Food Industry Association provided comments on this measure.

Your Committee finds that the testimony received on this measure was notably conflicting in terms of whether the proposed surcharge prohibition is needed and what its actual impact on consumers and businesses would be. However, since it raises important consumer and other issues, your Committee has amended this measure by changing its effective date to January 1, 2112, to encourage further discussion.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 470, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as S.B. No. 470, S.D. 1, H.D. 2.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce,

ANGUS L.K. McKELVEY, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-seventh Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce

	e Referral: B, CPC	Date	4/1/13	
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
CPC Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. McKELVEY, Angus L.K. (C)				
2. KAWAKAMI, Derek S.K. (VC)				FOR
3. BELATTI, Della Au				
4. BROWER, Tom				-
5. CABANILLA, Rida T.R.				
6. CACHOLA, Romy M.	\			
7. CARROLL, Mele	•			
8. EVANS, Cindy				
9. HAR, Sharon E.				
10. ITO, Ken				
11. LEE, Chris				
12. TSUJI, Clift				
13. YAMANE, Ryan I.				
14. MCDERMOTT, Bob				
15. THIELEN, Cynthia				
				_
				<u></u>
				_ <u>-</u>
TOTAL (15)	8	/		6
The recommendation is: Adopted Not Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation.				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Duplicate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO				