

March 20, 2013

RE: S.B. No. 1076

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Seventh State Legislature Regular Session of 2013 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Health, to which was referred S.B. No. 1076 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO THE USE OF THE DOCTOR OF ACUPUNCTURE TITLE,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to ensure consistency within, and further establish standards for, the practice of acupuncture in the State by specifying requirements for using the title of "Doctor of Acupuncture" or the designation of "D.Ac.", or the term "Doctor" or prefix "Dr." with the term "Acupuncturist", for licensees who have graduated from:

- (1) An accredited institution located in the United States or United States territory; or
- (2) A foreign institution and whose transcripts and curriculum have been evaluated by a Board of Acupuncture-approved and designated professional evaluator.

This measure also repeals the requirement that the Board of Acupuncture adopt rules to establish standards for the use of the title "Doctor of Acupuncture" or the designation of "D.Ac".

The Board of Acupuncture supported this measure.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Health that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 1076 and recommends that it pass Second Reading and be referred to the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Health,

DELLA AU BELATTI, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-seventh Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Health

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Referral: HLT, CPC			Date: 3 15 13		
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.						
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)						
HLT Members	1	Ayes	Ayes (W	R)	Nays	Excused
1. BELATTI, Della Au (C)		<u> </u>				
A MODIFIANIA D. (MC)						
2. MORIKAWA, Dee (VC)		V				
3. CABANILLA, Rida T.R.						<u> </u>
4. CARROLL, Mele						
5. JORDAN, Jo		· · ·				
						•
6. KOBAYASHI, Bertrand		✓				
7. WOODSON, Justin H.		<u> </u>				
, ,				‡	J.	
8. CHEAPE, Lauren Kealohil	lani					
·						
						-
						
TOTAL (8)		5	0		0	3
The recommendation is: Adopted Not Adopted						
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:						
Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Duplicate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO						