H.R. NO. 8

HOUSE RESOLUTION

URGING THE GOVERNOR AND THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF HAWAII TO PRESERVE THE COUNTIES' SHARE OF THE TRANSIENT ACCOMMODATIONS TAX.

WHEREAS, the transient accommodations tax is a tax levied 1 2 by the State on the proceeds derived from furnishing transient accommodations; and 3 4 WHEREAS, during the Regular Session of 1990, the 5 Legislature enacted Act 185 which gave the counties a share of 6 7 the transient accommodations tax; and 8 WHEREAS, according to Conference Committee Report 207, the 9 purpose of Act 185 was to provide a more equitable method of 10 sharing state revenues with the counties, rather than continuing 11 with the system existing at the time, whereby the counties 12 requested financial assistance through grants-in-aid from the 13 State; and 14 15 WHEREAS, the county share of the tax also provides more 16 stability to county finances and enables improved budgeting and 17 18 planning; and 19 WHEREAS, currently, 44.8 per cent of the total transient 20 accommodations tax collected by the State is distributed to the 21 counties; of this amount, the revenue is allocated as follows: 22 23 Kauai County 14.5% 24 25 Hawaii County 18.6% City and County of Honolulu ----44.1% 26 Maui County 22.8% 27 100.08 28 29 30 and 31 WHEREAS, the transient accommodations tax revenues account 32 for a significant portion of the counties' general fund budgets; 33 and 34 35



H.R. NO. 8

WHEREAS, maintaining the current allocation of the
 transient accommodations tax would allow the counties to
 continue providing essential government services to visitors and
 residents; and

6 WHEREAS, losing the current allocation of the transient
7 accommodations tax would require counties to significantly raise
8 property taxes; now, therefore,

10 BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the 11 Twenty-seventh Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular 12 Session of 2013, that the Governor and the Legislature are urged 13 to preserve the counties' share of the transient accommodations 14 tax; and

16 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that certified copies of this 17 Resolution be transmitted to the Governor, the President of the 18 Hawaii State Association of Counties, and the Mayors of the 19 Counties of Kauai, Hawaii, Honolulu, and Maui.

20 21

22

15

5

9

OFFERED BY:

Mont

By Request

JAN 17 2013

