HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING DEBRA LINDSEY AS THE RECIPIENT OF THE 2012

MASAYUKI TOKIOKA EXCELLENCE IN SCHOOL LEADERSHIP AWARD,
RANDIANN PORRAS-TANG AS THE 2012 METLIFE/NATIONAL

ASSOCIATION OF SECONDARY SCHOOL PRINCIPALS (NASSP) HAWAII
HIGH SCHOOL PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR, FRANK FERNANDES AS THE
2012 METLIFE/NASSP HAWAII MIDDLE SCHOOL PRINCIPAL OF THE
YEAR, KENNETH LEE AS HAWAII'S 2012 NATIONAL DISTINGUISHED
PRINCIPAL, STACEY MAKANOE KAWASAKI AS HAWAII'S 2012
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF ELEMENTARY SCHOOL PRINCIPALS
OUTSTANDING ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL, AND NUUANU ELEMENTARY
SCHOOL, BLANCHE POPE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL, AND WAIKIKI
ELEMENTARY SCHOOL AS 2012-2013 HAWAII BLUE RIBBON SCHOOLS.

WHEREAS, principals play a critical role in establishing a school's culture and academic environment and providing a place for students to develop crucial learning skills and habits needed as they progress in their education; and

WHEREAS, DEBRA LINDSEY, currently the Principal of Kauai High School, was the recipient of the 2012 Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award as the Principal of Koloa Elementary School for her leadership, hard work, and clear vision, which helped transform Koloa Elementary School into a model learning institution; and

WHEREAS, RANDIANN PORRAS-TANG, the Principal at Waialua High and Intermediate School, is the 2012 MetLife/National Association of Secondary School Principals Hawaii High School Principal of the Year due to her extraordinary dedication and passion to improving the school's academics, which have resulted in greatly improved graduation and faculty retention rates; and

WHEREAS, as a result of his "School of the Heart" philosophy, which promotes respect at Kaimuki Middle School, FRANK FERNANDES, the Principal at Kaimuki Middle School, has

5

been selected as the 2012 MetLife/National Association of Secondary School Principals Hawaii Middle School Principal of the Year: and

WHEREAS, as a result of his determination to insist on what is best for the students, KENNETH LEE, the Principal at Nimitz Elementary School, has been named Hawaii's 2012 National Distinguished Principal by a committee through a process conducted by the Hawaii Elementary and Middle School Administrators Association; and

WHEREAS, the National Association of Elementary School Principals honors STACEY MAKANOE KAWASAKI as Hawaii's 2012 Outstanding Assistant Principal for her strong leadership skills and unwavering dedication to education; and

 WHEREAS, three elementary schools, distinguishing themselves as examples of educational excellence, have been designated as Blue Ribbon Schools in the State of Hawaii and have earned nominations as national Blue Ribbon Schools; and

WHEREAS, NUUANU ELEMENTARY SCHOOL's emphasis on adapting to change and preparing young students for a technologically advanced world has contributed to the school being recognized as a 2012-2013 Hawaii Blue Ribbon School; and

WHEREAS, through hard work and perseverance, BLANCHE POPE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL has made impressive progress in meeting its educational goals and has been named a 2012-2013 Hawaii Blue Ribbon School; and

WHEREAS, WAIKIKI ELEMENTARY SCHOOL provides a safe, vibrant, and nurturing environment that encourages lifelong learning, which results in responsible, competent, and confident individuals who contribute to WAIKIKI ELEMENTARY SCHOOL's status as a 2012-2013 Hawaii Blue Ribbon School; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the Twenty-seventh Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2013, that this body hereby commends, congratulates, and honors DEBRA LINDSEY, RANDIANN PORRAS-TANG, FRANK FERNANDES,

KENNETH LEE, STACEY MAKANOE KAWASAKI, NUUANU ELEMENTARY SCHOOL,
BLANCHE POPE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL, and WAIKIKI ELEMENTARY SCHOOL
for their outstanding accomplishments and much-deserved
recognition, and extends to all of them its sincere mahalo and
best wishes for continued success in all future endeavors.

6 7

8

OFFERED BY:

Jakeshi Jim

MAR 2 0 2013