STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1529-12

Honolulu, Hawaii April 5 , 2012

RE: S.B. No. 1312 H.D. 1

Honorable Calvin K.Y. Say Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Sixth State Legislature Regular Session of 2012 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 1312 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO THE LEGACY LAND CONSERVATION COMMISSION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to authorize the Chairperson of the Natural Area Reserves System Commission to designate a member of the Natural Area Reserves System Commission to serve as the Chairperson's representative on the Legacy Land Conservation Commission and allow the members of the Legacy Land Conservation Commission to elect their own chairperson.

The Department of Land and Natural Resources, The Nature Conservancy of Hawaii, Chair of the Natural Area Reserves System Commission, Chair of the Legacy Lands Conservation Commission, and The Trust for Public Land testified in support of this measure.

Your Committee has amended this measure by making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for clarity, consistency, and style.



STAND. COM. REP. NO. **1529** -12 Page 2

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 1312, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second Reading in the form attached hereto as S.B. No. 1312, H.D. 1, and be placed on the calendar for Third Reading.

> Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

MARCUS R. OSHIRO, Chair



HSCR 1529-12-

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-sixth Legislature

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Referral:	Date:	3/28	lia
SB 1312	FIN		3/28	112
□ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to:				
Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. OSHIRO, Marcus R. (C)				
2. LEE, Marilyn B. (VC)				
3. CHOY, Isaac W.				
4. CULLEN, Ty				
5. GIUGNI, Heather				
6. HAR, Sharon E.				
7. HASHEM, Mark J.				
8. ICHIYAMA, Linda				
9. JORDAN, Jo	V			
10. KAWAKAMI, Derek S.K.				
11. LEE, Chris				
12. MORIKAWA, Dee				
13. TOKIOKA, James Kunane				
14. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.				
15. MARUMOTO, Barbara C.				
16. RIVIERE, Gil				
17. WARD, Gene				
				,
T				
TOTAL (17)	17			0
The recommendation is: Adopted				
If joint referral, did not support recommendation.				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature: Mait 3. Lee				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				