STAND. COM. REP. NO. 380 -12

Honolulu, Hawaii

Feb 14, 2012

RE: H.B. No. 2436 H.D. 1

Honorable Calvin K.Y. Say Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Sixth State Legislature Regular Session of 2012 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Judiciary, to which was referred H.B. No. 2436 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO THE INFORMATION PRIVACY AND SECURITY COUNCIL,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to allow the Comptroller's designee to serve as chair of the Information Privacy And Security Council.

The Department of Accounting and General Services testified in support of this measure. Both the Acting Executive Director of the Information Privacy and Security Council and the Office of Information Management and Technology supported the overall intent of this bill but recommended that the Chief Information Officer be the chair instead of the Comptroller.

Accordingly, your Committee has amended this measure by:

- (1) Designating the Chief Information Officer or that officer's designee as the chair of the Information Privacy and Security Council, instead of the Comptroller;
- (2) Changing the effective date to January 7, 2059, to promote further discussion; and

(3) Making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for clarity, consistency, and style.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Judiciary that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2436, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Second Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 2436, H.D. 1, and be placed on the calendar for Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Judiciary,

GILBERT KEITH-AGARAN, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-sixth Legislature

Record of Votes of the Committee on Judiciary

HB 2436	Committee Referral:	Date:	2/2/	12
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
JUD Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. KEITH-AGARAN, Gilbert S.C.	(C) V		 '	-
2. RHOADS, Karl (VC)			· ·	
3. BROWER, Tom				
4. CABANILLA, Rida T.R.				~
5. CARROLL, Mele				/
6. COFFMAN, Denny				
7. HERKES, Robert N.				
8. ITO, Ken				
9. LUKE, Sylvia				
10. McKELVEY, Angus L.K.				
11. SOUKI, Joseph M.	~			
12. TSUJI, Clift				
13. FONTAINE, George R.				
14. MARUMOTO, Barbara C.				
15. THIELEN, Cynthia	MR WHILE ALL			
·			,	
			n_==	
		-	77.40	
		 -		
TOTAL (15)	11	0	0	4
The recommendation is: 📈 Adopted 🗅 Not Adopted				
If joint referral, did not support recommendation.				
) / / / / / / / / / / / / / / / / / / /				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				