HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

SUPPORTING THE VISA IMPROVEMENTS TO STIMULATE INTERNATIONAL TOURISM TO THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA ACT.

WHEREAS, tourism is a vital part of Hawaii's economy; and

WHEREAS, the Pacific region is a vast market for new visitors; and

WHEREAS, in 2010 more than fifty-four million Chinese citizens traveled abroad; and

WHEREAS, in that same year, only eight hundred thousand Chinese visitors traveled to the United States and of those, only sixty-two thousand Chinese visitors traveled to Hawaii; and

WHEREAS, reforming the travelers visa process is a costeffective way to make it easier for more international business and tourists to visit Hawaii and the United States; and

WHEREAS, the Visa Improvements to Stimulate International Tourism to the United States of America Act (VISIT USA Act) would establish a five year multiple entry visa for Chinese visitors, extend the time Canadian retirees can stay in the United States, and make other amendments in the visa process that would increase tourism in the United States; and

WHEREAS, the average visitor from China staying in Hawaii spends approximately \$350 a day, the growth in visitors stimulated by the VISIT USA Act could yield an estimated \$573,000,000 for the State; and

WHEREAS, the proposed improvements in the VISIT USA Act would help make visiting Hawaii more convenient for many international visitors, thus providing a significant boost to

Hawaii's economy through increased commerce and job growth; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the Twenty-sixth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2012, the Senate concurring, that the Legislature supports the Visa Improvements to Stimulate International Tourism to the United States of America Act; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that certified copies of this Concurrent Resolution be transmitted to the Majority Leader of the United States Senate, the Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, the members of Hawaii's Congressional Delegation, the Secretary of Homeland Security, the Director of the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services, and the Governor.

OFFERED BY:

FEB 0 8 2012