



Testimony of Darren Kimura Co-Chair – Energy Efficiency Working Group Hawai'i Energy Policy Forum

House Committee on Energy and Environmental Protection Tuesday, February 16, 2010 2:45 p.m. Conference Room 225

IN SUPPORT OF SB 2551, Relating to Net Zero Energy Building Permitting

I am Darren Kimura, Co-Chair of the Energy Efficiency Working Group of the Hawaii Energy Policy Forum ("Forum"). The Forum is comprised of 47 representatives from the electric utilities, oil and natural gas suppliers, environmental and community groups, renewable energy industry, and federal, state and local government, including representatives from the neighbor islands. We have been meeting since 2002 and have adopted a common vision and mission, and a comprehensive "10 Point Action Plan," which serves as a framework and guide for meeting our preferred energy vision and goals. The Forum strongly supports passage of SB 2551 as it promotes energy efficiency technology development for the State.

SB 2551 defines "net zero energy building" as one that consumes zero net energy and produces zero carbon emissions; and gives priority handling and processing for state and county permits for such projects.

Net zero energy buildings are as important to reducing carbon e missions and our use of fossil fuels as are renewable energy projects -- and they are less expensive and can be brought on lime more immediately. This bill is a no-cost incentive that will increase our energy efficient building stock and achieve a cleaner energy future for Hawaii.

Based on the foregoing, the Forum strongly supports SB2551. and respectfully urges passage of the bill.

Thank you for the opportunity to testify.

This testimony reflects the position of the Forum as a whole and not necessarily of the individual Forum members or their companies or organizations.

Hawai'i Energy Policy Forum

Ms. Stephanie Ackerman, The Gas Co.

- Mr. Robbie Alm, HECO Ms. Amy Asselbaye, Office of US Rep. Neil Abercrombie
- Ms. Madeleine Austin, World Business Academy Mr. Warren Bollmeier, Hawai'i Renewable
- Energy Alliance Mr. Carlito Caliboso, PUC (Observer)
- Mr. Albert Chee, Chevron
- Ms. Elizabeth Cole, The Kohala Center
- Mr. Kyle Datta, New Energy Partners
- Ms. Laura Dierenfield, People's Advocacy for Trails Hawai'i (PATH) Mr. Mark Duda, HI Solar Energy Asst.
- Sen. Kalani English, Hawai'i State Senate
- Mr. Mitch Ewan, UH HNEI
- Mr. Carl Freedman, Haiku Design & Analysis
- Sen. Mike Gabbard, Hawai'i State Senate
- Mr. Mark Glick, OHA Dr. Michael Hamnett, RCUH
- Dr. Robert Harris, Sierra Club
- Mr. William Kaneko, Hawai'i Institute for Public Affairs
- Mr. Darren Kimura, Energy Industries Holdings
- Ms. Kelly King, Sustainable Biodiesel Alliance Mr. Mike Kitamura, Office of US Senator Daniel
- K. Akaka Mr. Kal Kobayashi & Victor Reves, Maui County Energy Office
- Mr. Laurence Lau, State of Hawai'i DOH Mr. Allyn Lee, C&C of Honolulu Dept. of Design & Construction
- Dr. Stephen Meder, UH Center of Smart
- **Building & Community Design** Dr. Sharon Miyashiro, UH College of Social
- Sciences Public Policy Center Rep. Hermina Morita, Hawai'i State House of Representatives
- Mr. Dean Nishina, Div of Consumer Advocacy
- Mr. Tim O'Connell, USDA-Rural Development Ms. Melissa Pavlicek, Hawaii Public Policy
- Advocates Mr. Ted Peck, State of Hawai'i DBEDT Strategic
- Industries Division Mr. Randy Perreira, Hawai'i State AFL-CIO
- Dr. Rick Rocheleau, UH HNEI Mr. William Rolston, Hawai'i County Dept. of
- Research & Development
- Mr. Peter Rosegg, HECO Mr. Steven Rymsha, KIUC
- Mr. Riley Saito, PowerLight Corporation
- Mr. Glenn Sato, Kaua'i County Office of Economic Development
- Mr. Bill Short, BIA of Hawai'i
- Ms. Joelle Simonpietri, Simonpietri Enterprises LLC
- Mr. H. Ray Starling, Hawai'i Energy Group LLC Mr. Lance Tanaka, Tesoro Hawai'i Corp
- Dr. Don Thomas, UH Center for the Study of
- Active Volcanoes Ms. Maria Tome, State of Hawai'i DBEDT
- Energy Office Mr. Murray Towill, Hawai'i Hotel Association Mr. Joshua Wisch, Office US Representative
- Mazie Hirono Mr. Alan Yamamoto, Office US Senator Daniel
- Inouye