STAND. COM. REP. NO. **Z60** -10

Honolulu, Hawaii

Fe 5 10, 2010

RE: H.B. No. 2605

Honorable Calvin K.Y. Say Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Fifth State Legislature Regular Session of 2010 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Transportation, to which was referred H.B. No. 2605 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO SAFETY INSPECTION OF MOTOR CARRIER VEHICLES,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this bill is to make sections 286-207 and 286-209, Hawaii Revised Statutes, conform with Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSR) to ensure continued federal funding from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) to Department of Transportation's Motor Vehicle Safety Office by requiring certain vehicles transporting hazardous materials to comply with the state motor carriers safety laws.

The Department of Transportation and Hawaii Transportation Association testified in support of this bill.

Your Committee notes that if the state's statutes remain incompatible with FMCSR, FMCSA funding will be withdrawn. As a result, the State would have to find alternative means of funding to continue to enforce motor carrier safety laws on commercial motor carriers for everyone's safety on Hawaii's roads.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Transportation that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 2605 and recommends that it pass Second Reading and be referred to the Committee on Finance.

HB2605 HSCR TRN HMS 2010-1739

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Transportation,

OSEPH M. SOUKI, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-fifth Legislature

HSCR 240-10

Record of Votes of the Committee on Transportation

Bill/Resolution No.: HB 2605	Committee Referral: TRN, FIN		Date: 2/08/2010	
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
TRN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. SOUKI, Joseph M. (C)				
2. AWANA, Karen Leinani (VC)				
3. AQUINO, Henry J.C.				
4. HANOHANO, Faye P.				
5. KEITH-AGARAN, Gilbert S.C.				
6. LEE, Marilyn B.				
7. NAKASHIMA, Mark M.			_	
8. RHOADS, Karl				
9. SAIKI, Scott K.				_
10. TAKUMI, Roy M.			_	
11. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.				
12. PINE, Kymberly Marcos				· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
TOTAL (12)	11	ϕ	_ <i>\phi</i>	·
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, committee Gronym(s) Not Adopted did not support recommendation.				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Duplicate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO				