JOINT LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE ON AGING IN PLACE THE TWENTY-FOURTH LEGISLATURE INTERIM OF 2008

GRANDPARENTS RAISING GRANDCHILDREN TASK FORCE

Ms. Patricia Urieff, MSW, LSW, Co-chair Dr. Lori Yancura, Co-chair

NOTICE OF MEETING

DATE: Fr

Friday, May 8, 2009

TIME:

11:30am

PLACE:

Queen Liliuokalani Children's Center

1300 Halona Street Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

<u>AGENDA</u>

Senate Bill No. 2830, enacted as Act 220, established a Grandparents Raising Grandchildren Task Force to focus on the needs and issues of grandparents raising grandchildren (GRG). The Task Force will meet to discuss the following:

- 1. Welcome and Introductions
- 2. Review of draft "Benchmarks GRG Task Force Completed"
- 3. Review of draft "List of Issues for Joint Legislative Committee on Aging In Place Follow-up after June 2009"
- 4. Announcement from Lily Ochco, Department of Health (DOH) Administration:
 - a. Immunization law supports immunization of minors without parent's consent.
 - b. Caregivers Consent to Minor's Health Care, Act 208, supports caregivers without legal status to allow minors to receive immunizations and health care. Therefore staff at DOH Immunizations Clinics should not ask caregivers without legal status for a Power of Attorney Document. If/when caregivers are asked to provide POA, report that to DOH that wants to correct the situation.
- 5. Update on DOE survey
- 6. Announcements
- 7. Next Meeting: Friday, June 5, 2009 at 11:30am at QLCC.

Persons who wish to submit testimony are asked to contact Senator Les Ihara's office at 808-586-6250. All testifiers are requested to submit 45 copies of their testimony at least 24 hours before the meeting in Room 220 of the State Capitol, or by fax to 808-586-6251. If you require special assistance or auxiliary aids or services to participate in the meeting (i.e., sign language, interpreter, wheelchair accessibility, or parking designated for the disabled) please contact Senator Les Ihara's office 24 hours prior to the hearing so arrangements can be made.

Lori Yancura Co-chair Patricia Urieff

Co-chair