STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1469-08

Honolulu, Hawaii

Menh 28, 2008

RE: H.R. No. 258

Honorable Calvin K.Y. Say Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Fourth State Legislature Regular Session of 2008 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection, to which was referred H.R. No. 258 entitled:

"HOUSE RESOLUTION REQUESTING THE COUNTIES TO USE THE AUTHORITY GRANTED TO THEM UNDER SECTION 342D-70, HAWAII REVISED STATUTES, AND ADOPT AND IMPLEMENT STANDARDS FOR THE REUSE OF RESIDENTIAL GRAY WATER FOR SUBSURFACE LANDSCAPE IRRIGATION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this resolution is to make more efficient use of our precious fresh water by requesting the counties to use their existing authority to adopt and implement standards for the reuse of residential gray water for subsurface landscape irrigation.

The Department of Health and several individuals testified in support of this resolution.

Gray water is defined as any water from the domestic plumbing system of a residence, except toilets, that is not contaminated with any household hazardous waste. Section 342D-70, Hawaii Revised Statutes, authorizes the counties to implement a gray water recycling program in which gray water is used to irrigate lawns and gardens.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection that is attached to this report, your Committee concurs with the intent and purpose of H.R. No. 258 and recommends its adoption.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection,

HERMINA MORITA, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-fourth Legislature

HSCR 1469-08

Record of Votes of the Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection

Bill/Resolution No.: HK 268	Committee Referral:		Date: 3/20/08	
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
EEP Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. MORITA, Hermina M. (C)	/			
			The Committee of the Co	
2. CARROLL, Mele (VC)	V			
2 UTO Van				
3. ITO, Ken				es promote a la company
4. KARAMATSU, Jon Riki		eleganic de la companya de la compa		~
5. MAGAOAY, Michael Y.	✓			
6. SAGUM, Roland D., III				
7 CAIVI COM V				
7. SAIKI, Scott K.				
8. THIELEN, Cynthia				
	1			
- 3				
	*			
				No.
TOTAL (8)	5	0	0	83 KV
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office				