STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1537 -08

Honolulu, Hawaii

, 2008 E. B_{H.R. No. 160}

Honorable Calvin K.Y. Say Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Fourth State Legislature Regular Session of 2008 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection, to which was referred H.R. No. 160 entitled:

"HOUSE RESOLUTION REQUESTING COUNTIES TO DEVELOP AND IMPLEMENT PROGRAMS TO ENCOURAGE RETAILERS TO INCREASE THE USE OF ENVIRONMENTALLY PREFERABLE ALTERNATIVES TO NON-BIODEGRADABLE PLASTIC BAGS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this resolution is to request the counties to develop and implement programs to encourage retailers to increase the use of environmentally preferable alternatives to non-biodegrable plastic bags, such as compostable or reusable bags.

A member of the Maui County Council, Windward Ahupuaa Alliance, Beach Environmental Awareness Campaign Hawaii, Styrophobia LLC, and several concerned individuals testified in support of this resolution. The Retail Merchants of Hawaii, Progressive Bag Affiliates of the American Chemistry Council, and the Hawaii Food Industry Association opposed this measure. A concerned individual provided comments.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection that is attached to this report, your Committee concurs with the intent and purpose of H.R. No. 160 and recommends that it be referred to the Committee on Economic Development & Business Concerns.

STAND. COM. REP. NO. **1531** -08 Page 2

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection,

Mele Carale

HERMINA MORITA, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-fourth Legislature

Record of Votes of the Committee on Energy & Environmental Protection

HR 160	EEP, EDB	EEP, EDB		Bate: 3/2712008	
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.					
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)					
EEP Members	Ayes	Ayes (W)	R) Nays	Excused	
1. MORITA, Hermina M. (C)	1				
2. CARROLL, Mele (VC)	V				
2 UTO Von				100 mg	
3. ITO, Ken		711 - 11		4 6	
4. KARAMATSU, Jon Riki				A. E.	
5. MAGAOAY, Michael Y.				V	
6. SAGUM, Roland D., III	V				
7. SAIKI, Scott K.	V			Mr Kra	
8. THIELEN, Cynthia					
8. THIELEN, Cynthia					
	,			1 2 -	
TOTAL (8)	4	(9 0	35 2	
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)					
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:					
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office					