HOUSE RESOLUTION

HONORING DOROTHY "DOT" HORIE FOR HER 40 YEARS OF DEDICATED SERVICE TO THE HAWAII STATE HOUSE IN THE PRINTSHOP.

WHEREAS, the Hawaii House is fortunate to have hard working dedicated employees who return for session assignments year after year, and who serve the institution well and share their considerable wealth of knowledge and expertise with the younger members of the workforce; and

WHEREAS, one such exemplary House legislative session employee is the legendary **DOROTHY "DOT" HORIE**, former Printshop Manager, who began her legislative career in February of 1967 as an Assistant File Clerk earning \$19 a day for a total of \$1,615 for the entire 85 day session; and

WHEREAS, "DOT" served the Hawaii House in the days when the Legislature met at Iolani Palace, and she recalled when the Printshop staff would have to push bill carts down Beretania Street from the old Printshop, which was located near the Schumann Carriage site, at all hours of the day and night, oftentimes holding up traffic, for anxious deliberating members; and

WHEREAS, from 1967 through 2006 "DOT" returned to the Hawaii House continuously and served 8 Speakers—Elmer Cravalho, Tadao Beppu, James Wakatsuki, Henry Peters, Richard Kawakami, Daniel Kihano, Joseph M. Souki and Calvin K.Y. Say, and 4 Clerks—Shigeto Kanemoto, George Takane, Gerald Miyoshi and Patricia Mau-Shimizu; and

WHEREAS, "DOT" participated in the evolution of printing technologies from typewriters and carbon copies, mimeograph machines, offset printers, Xerox machines, and high speed computer managed copiers attached to the legislative network; and

HR DOT FP.doc

11 12 13 WHEREAS, the Hawaii House owes a debt of gratitude to this tireless lady, who faithfully and proudly served the Hawaii House for 40 years; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the Twenty-fourth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2007, that this body honors and thanks **DOROTHY "DOT" HORIE** for her 40 years of faithful service to members, staff and public constituents.

OFFERED BY:

Calvin K. Y. Say

Jon Riki Karamatsu

Kirk Caldwell

ynn Tinnegan

Michael Y. Magaday

OCONT K. Brini

Scott K. Saiki