## HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE 2007 BOYS AND GIRLS CLUB OF HAWAII YOUTH OF THE YEAR KANANI SANTOS, AND YOUTH OF THE YEAR NOMINEES BENJIE BACLIG, AMELIA ARIEL BUTLER, LEHUA KAOPIO, KUN TAULUNG, AND CHRISTIAN WILLIS.

WHEREAS, the Boys and Girls Club of Hawaii has established a proud tradition of helping youth of all backgrounds to develop the qualities and values needed to become responsible citizens and leaders by offering programs and services through a safe, positive, and caring environment; and

WHEREAS, the Boys and Girls Club of Hawaii Youth of the Year Award is presented to a Boys and Girls Club of Hawaii member who has exhibited outstanding leadership qualities and contributions in the areas of home and family, moral character, community involvement, academics and extracurricular activities, and service to the Boys and Girls Club, as well as setting and achieving personal short- and long-term goals; and

WHEREAS, KANANI SANTOS, a member of the Waianae/Nanakuli Clubhouse, has been an active member of the Boys and Girls Club of Hawaii, helping to coordinate various club projects including the Veterans Day and Christmas Day parades and community cleanups and mentoring and being a role model for other youth in the program; and

WHEREAS, in addition to her commitment to academic excellence, KANANI SANTOS, a sophomore at Waianae High School, is involved in extracurricular activities, including participating in the school softball league and assisting the cheerleading squad with their choreography; and

WHEREAS, with the love and support of her guardians, Arthur and Allene Uesugi, KANANI SANTOS has been an involved member of her community, serving as a member of Waianae Intermediate

School's peer mediation team and teaching Sunday school at Emmanuel Chapel Church; and

WHEREAS, in recognition of her personal initiative, leadership, and dedication to her community and family, on February 24, 2007, KANANI SANTOS, was selected as the 2007 Boys and Girls Club of Hawaii Youth of the Year; and

WHEREAS, 2007 Boys and Girls Club of Hawaii Youth of the Year nominees BENJIE BACLIG, AMELIA ARIEL BUTLER, LEHUA KAOPIO, KUN TAULUNG, and CHRISTIAN WILLIS also exemplify the values of the Boys and Girls Club of Hawaii; now, therefore,

 BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the Twenty-fourth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular session of 2007, that this body commends and applauds KANANI SANTOS, recipient of the 2007 Boys and Girls Club of Hawaii Youth of the Year award, for her commitment to academic excellence, outstanding leadership abilities, community and school involvement, and personal growth, and congratulates the 2007 Boys and Girls Club of Hawaii Youth of the Year Nominees BENJIE BACLIG, AMELIA ARIEL BUTLER, LEHUA KAOPIO, KUN TAULUNG, and CHRISTIAN WILLIS, and extends to these fine, young individuals its best wishes for continued success in all future endeavors.

OFFERED BY:

HR HMS 2007-3416

Almot D Sagn III