HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING JAMI MURANAKA AS THE 2007 HAWAII STATE TEACHER OF THE YEAR, AND LIZABETH HORII, NAIDAH GAMUROT, BRETT KEWISH, JANICE NAKAGAWA, JUDY LOCKE, AND ALLISON CARVEIRO AS THE 2007 HAWAII STATE DISTRICT TEACHERS OF THE YEAR, AND KAWANANAKOA MIDDLE SCHOOL, MOANALUA ELEMENTARY SCHOOL, AND WAIKIKI ELEMENTARY SCHOOL AS THE 2007 BLUE RIBBON SCHOOLS OF THE STATE OF HAWAII.

WHEREAS, in light of the important role the public education system plays in solidifying Hawaii's future, it is always a pleasure and privilege for the Hawaii State House of Representatives to recognize those exceptional people and institutions that have made significant achievements in educating and inspiring our state's youth and encouraging and involving the people of the surrounding communities; and

WHEREAS, while waiting for acceptance to pharmacy school after earning a biology degree at the University of California at Los Angeles, Jami Muranaka returned to Hawaii and began teaching science at her alma mater, Kaiser High School, where she fell in love with the profession and her students, chose to stay, and has recently been named the 2007 Honolulu District Teacher of the Year and the 2007 Hawaii State Teacher of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Lizabeth Horii, since beginning her teaching career in 1980, has taught each grade, kindergarten through sixth, at nine different schools until settling in at Mililani Ike Elementary School where her achievements have been recognized by being named the 2007 Central District Teacher of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Naidah Gamurot started teaching at Campbell High School in 1981 and taught math, physical education, and university and community college courses before moving to her

current position at Kapolei High School where she has received recognition for her excellence in teaching by being named the 2007 Leeward District Teacher of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Brett Kewish's career in teaching took him from Washington State in 1995 to Kahuku High and Intermediate School where he has earned the honor of being chosen as the 2007 Windward District Teacher of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Janice Nakagawa started teaching at Keaukaha Elementary School in 1980 before teaching kindergarten for the past 23 years at Waiakeawaena Elementary School and, due to her dedication and superb performance, has recently been named the 2007 Hawaii District Teacher of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Kihei Elementary School's Judy Locke also serves as the lead teacher for the Maui Arts and Cultural Center and has been acknowledged for her inspiring work as the 2007 Maui District Teacher of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Allison Carveiro taught for five Kauai schools since 1988, and spent five years in the Kauai district office before taking her current position at Kekaha Elementary School and in appreciation of her hard work and motivating teaching has been named as the 2007 Kauai District Teacher of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Jami Muranaka, Lizabeth Horii, Naidah Gamurot, Brett Kewish, Janice Nakagawa, Judy Locke, and Allison Carveiro, through their dedication and commitment to serving the children in our schools, have proven themselves worthy of being honored as inspirational teachers and role models for our public school community; and

WHEREAS, Kawananakoa Middle School, a school with more than 40 percent of its students coming from disadvantaged backgrounds, inspires its students through the cooperation of its teachers and staff, exemplifying its vision of "Knowledge and Wisdom with Compassion"; and

WHEREAS, Moanalua Elementary School is known for its collaborative efforts to provide an environment that nurtures

and develops the whole child and where students are provided opportunities to be successful in all academic areas; and

WHEREAS, Waikiki Elementary School's staff encourage school and community partnerships and offer diverse learning opportunities including philosophy for children, Japanese language, creative movement and dance, Hawaiian studies, computer technology, peer mediation, and reading improvement programs; and

WHEREAS, Kawananakoa Middle School, Moanalua Elementary School, and Waikiki Elementary School were named Hawaii's 2007 Blue Ribbon Schools for making significant progress in closing the achievement gap and inspiring and guiding its students to achieve at the highest levels; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the Twenty-fourth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2007, that this body hereby recognizes, congratulates, and honors Jami Muranaka, Lizabeth Horii, Naidah Gamurot, Brett Kewish, Janice Nakagawa, Judy Locke, and Allison Carveiro for their outstanding accomplishments and recognition as Hawaii's 2007 Teachers of the Year, and congratulates and honors Kawananakoa Middle School, Moanalua Elementary School, and Waikiki Elementary School as Hawaii's 2007 Blue Ribbon Schools, and extends to all of them its sincere mahalo for a job well done; and

OFFERED BY:

