**5** 

## HOUSE RESOLUTION

COMMENDING AND HONORING THE RECIPIENTS OF THE SMALL BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION'S 2007 SMALL BUSINESS AWARDS.

WHEREAS, while the natural beauty of Hawaii is recognized throughout the world, the real beauty of our island state lies in its people, who through their personal and professional relationships have dedicated their efforts to serve the needs of the people of Hawaii and create the prosperity and high standards of living which we all enjoy; and

WHEREAS, Hawaii's small business owners represent an essential component of our economy, providing critical jobs and generating much-needed revenue and business activity for our State; and

WHEREAS, the Small Business Administration is a federal agency dedicated to assisting those unique individuals who have the energy, vision, and work ethic to manage and lead their own small businesses; and

WHEREAS, each year, in addition to all of its programs and activities designed to promote and protect small businesses, the SBA recognizes the accomplishments and achievements of those outstanding small business owners and leaders who display the highest levels of entrepreneurial spirit by selecting recipients for its Small Business Awards; and

WHEREAS, the Small Business Awards encompass a wide variety of categories relating to small business, including export businesses, family-owned businesses, home-based businesses, journalism, and financial services, among others; and

WHEREAS, recipients of the Small Business Awards have demonstrated the highest levels of hard work and commitment, willingness to assist others in their trade or in their community, innovation and creativity, and resiliency in the face of adversity; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the Twenty-fourth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2007, that this body hereby commends and honors the following recipients of the Small Business Administration's 2007 Small Business Awards:

(1) Malcolm Koga and Glenn Nohara, Small Business Person of the Year Award;

(2) Anthony Yamada, David Inouye, and Michael Inouye, Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award;

(3) Nobuo and Teruko Kuniyuki, Small Business Exporter of the Year Award;

(4) Alvin Makimoto, Family-Owned Small Business of the Year Award;

(5) Brian Iwata, Financial Services Champion of the Year Award;

(6) Lani Weigert, Alii Chang, and Marseu Simpson, Home-Based Business Champion of the Year Award;

(7) Evan and Kari Leong, Small Business Journalist of the Year Award;

(8) Dr. Tin Myaing Thein, Minority Small Business Champion of the Year Award; and

(9) Barbara Hastings and Barbra Pleadwell, Women in Business Champion of the Year Award.

OFFERED BY:

