MELE KALIKIMAKA!



Serving Hawai`i's Senate District 1 - Hilo Majority Caucus Leader Chair, Committee on Tourism and International Affairs



A Message from Senator Kahele

Aloha!

As we celebrate this special time of the year, my office staff and I would like to wish everyone the happiest of holidays.

Over the past year, I have been extremely proud at what we have been able to accomplish for the residents of Hilo and our State.

As we look ahead to a new legislative session and a new set of responsibilities, it is a time to reflect on the many blessings of life in our island home. Please accept our very best wishes for a joyous holiday season.

Mele Kalikimaka me ka Hau'oli makahiki Hou!

Giller Kabele

Hilo Medical Center Foundation 2014 Physician of the Year

Senator Kahele acknowledges and congratulates Dr. Lynda Dolan, 2014 Physician of the Year, at the Hilo Medical Center Foundation, Wine & Cheese event with Senator Inouye and in back MC, JE Orozco.



Ku`ikahi Mediation Center and Hawai`i County Bar Association Recognition Dinner



The Senate was pleased to offer its congratulations to Sandra P. Song (left), the Hawai`i County Bar Association's honoree for her many years of service as a Hilo attorney.

December 2014

Also recognized by the Senate was volunteer mediators Romy Saquing, John Petrella, Catherine Lampton, Caroline Weber and Julio Saenz (below) who were honored as Ku`ikahi Mediation Center's Peacemaker Awardees.





Hawai'i State Senate Leadership & Committee Assignments

Twenty-Eighth Legislature 2015-2016

President: Vice President: **Majority Leader:** Majority Floor Leader: Josh Green

AGRICULTURE (AGL)

Ruderman, Russell E. (Chair) Riviere, Gil (Vice Chair) Chun Oakland, Suzanne Taniguchi, Brian T. Thielen, Laura H. Wakai, Glenn Slom, Sam

COMMERCE AND CONSUMER

PROTECTION (CPN) Baker, Rosalyn H. (Chair) Taniguchi, Brian T. (Vice Chair) Kahele, Gilbert Kidani, Michelle N. Nishihara, Clarence K. Wakai, Glenn Slom, Sam

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

AND TECHNOLOGY (EDT) Wakai, Glenn (Chair) Slom, Sam (Vice Chair) Baker, Rosalyn H. Chun Oakland, Suzanne Dela Cruz, Donovan M. Espero, Will Harimoto, Breene

EDUCATION (EDU)

Kidani, Michelle N. (Chair) Harimoto, Breene (Vice Chair) Chun Oakland, Suzanne Dela Cruz, Donovan M. Keith-Agaran, Gilbert S.C. Kouchi, Ronald D. Nishihara, Clarence K. Thielen, Laura H. Slom, Sam

Donna Mercado Kim Will Espero J. Kalani English

Gabbard, Mike (Chair)

Galuteria, Brickwood

Ihara, Jr., Les

Slom, Sam

(GVO)

Chair)

Chair)

Ihara, Jr., Les

Tokuda, Jill N.

Slom, Sam

Green, Josh (Vice Chair)

<u>(ENE)</u>

ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT

GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS

Dela Cruz, Donovan M. (Chair)

Nishihara, Clarence K. (Vice

HAWAIIAN AFFAIRS (HWN)

Galuteria, Brickwood (Vice

Inouye, Lorraine R.

Kahele, Gilbert

HEALTH (HTH)

Green, Josh (Chair)

Baker, Rosalyn H.

Ruderman, Russell E.

Gabbard, Mike

Riviere, Gil

Slom, Sam

Wakai, Glenn (Vice Chair)

Slom, Sam

Shimabukuro, Maile S.L. (Chair)

Majority Policy Leader: Majority Caucus Leader: Majority Whip: Minority Leader/Floor Leader:

HIGHER EDUCATION AND

THE ARTS (HEA) Taniguchi, Brian T. (Chair) Inouye, Lorraine R. (Vice Chair) Gabbard, Mike Kahele, Gilbert Kidani, Michelle N. Wakai, Glenn Slom, Sam

HUMAN SERVICES AND

HOUSING (HSH) Chun Oakland, Suzanne (Chair) Green, Josh (Vice Chair) Harimoto, Breene Riviere, Gil Slom, Sam

JUDICIARY AND LABOR (JDL)

Keith-Agaran, Gilbert S.C. (Chair) Shimabukuro, Maile S.L. (Vice Chair) Espero, Will Gabbard, Mike Ihara, Jr., Les Thielen, Laura H. Slom, Sam

PUBLIC SAFETY,

INTERGOVERNMENTAL AND MILITARY AFFAIRS (PSM)

Espero, Will (Chair) Baker, Rosalyn H. (Vice Chair) Galuteria, Brickwood Keith-Agaran, Gilbert S.C. Slom, Sam

Les Ihara, Jr. **Gilbert Kahele** Brian T. Taniguchi Sam Slom

TOURISM AND INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS <u>(TSI)</u>

Kahele, Gilbert (Chair) English, J. Kalani (Vice Chair) Taniguchi, Brian T. Tokuda, Jill N. Slom, Sam

TRANSPORTATION (TRA)

Nishihara, Clarence K. (Chair) Harimoto, Breene (Vice Chair) Dela Cruz, Donovan M. English, J. Kalani Espero, Will Inouve, Lorraine R. Kidani, Michelle N. Kouchi, Ronald D. Slom, Sam

WATER AND LAND (WTL)

Thielen, Laura H. (Chair) Galuteria, Brickwood (Vice Chair) Ihara, Jr., Les Riviere, Gil Ruderman, Russell E. Shimabukuro, Maile S.L. Slom, Sam

WAYS AND MEANS (WAM)

Tokuda, Jill N. (Chair) Kouchi, Ronald D. (Vice Chair) Chun Oakland, Suzanne Dela Cruz, Donovan M. English, J. Kalani Galuteria, Brickwood Harimoto, Breene Inouye, Lorraine R. Riviere, Gil Ruderman, Russell E. Slom, Sam

Dr. David K. Sing, Director of Nā Pua No`eau Retires

The Senate commended Dr. David Sing on his forty year tenure with the UH System and wished him well on his much deserved retirement. Dr. Sing is the founding executive director of Nā Pua No'eau Center for Gifted and Talented Native Hawaiian Children which was established in 1989 at UH Hilo. Its goal was to increase the educational opportunities for Hawaiian children in kindergarten through 12th grade. Although he is retiring from Nā Pua No'eau, he will continue to serve our families and communities through Hawaiian education as a managing partner of Educational Prism, LLC.

