## Legislative Connection

Tel: 586-6360 Rm. 231 Senespero@capítol.hawaíí.gov Watch "Espero Conversatíon" on Olelo Ch. 54, Mondays at 1:00 pm, 1st & 3rd Sundays at 9:30 pm <u>Twítter.com</u> <u>Facebook.com</u> <u>Esperowill.com</u>











## 2011 Hawaii Medal of Honor Recipients

Army Specialist Toby R. Olsen Marine Lance Cpl Timothy J. Poole, Jr. Marine Lance Cpl Noah M. Pier Army Pvt 1st Class Raymond N. Pacleb Marine Lance Cpl Curtis M. Swenson Marine Pvt 1st Class Jake W. Suter Marine Cpl Joe L. Wrightsman Army 1st Lt Michael L. Runyan Army Sgt Jamal M. Rhett Army Staff Sgt Philip C. Jenkins Army Pvt 1st Class James F. McClamrock Marine 1st Lt Scott J. Fleming Army Sgt Aracely Gonzalez O'Malley Army Sgt David J. Luff, Jr. Marine Sgt Matthew T. Abbate Army Cpl Sean M. Collins

In 2005, Hawaii became the first state to honor those servicemen and women who lost their lives in the defense of democracy and freedom in volatile regions around the globe. Other



states have since followed our example. Each year the Legislature awards the Medal of Honor to express our gratitude to the loved ones of these members of the military.



(Clockwise from top. Standing for the 21-gun salute outside in the Rotunda. The flags. The bell tolled for each serviceman. Standing in honor of a fallen soldier. The families of the medal recipients. Commanding officers of the military branches. Senator Espero and Representative Henry Aquino presenting the certificate of appreciation to one of the families.)



## LEGISLATIVE UPDATE

With approximately six weeks left in this Legislative session, the main question is how to balance the budget. The tragedy in Japan is expected to negatively affect tourism, and events in the Middle East may also negatively affect us. Expect a combination of spending cuts and revenue generation bills as the State faces the latest challenge.

To see bills introduced & hearings on them, see www.capitol.hawaii.gov and scroll to "Bills Introduced" and "Hearing Notices."